Former Sage Award Winners

2017 Sage Award Winners

At our 2017 Sage Award ceremony and dinner, all 27 Sage Award nominees were recognized for displaying a positive image of aging by continuing to lead purposeful lives to better our community. The individuals below were 2017 Sage Award recipients in their categories.

Professional Services

Dr. David L. Anderson, from Port Salerno, won a 2017 Sage Award in Professional Services for his lifelong commitment to improve the quality of education for all students in Martin County. At the age of 71, he was the longest sitting School Board member in the State of Florida. He is one of the county’s best know educators and the namesake for our newest middle school in Martin County. 


Community Service

Gytha Von Aldenbruck, from Hutchinson Island, won a 2017 Sage Award in Community Service for her unwavering commitment to multiple organizations across the Treasure Coast including Treasure Coast Hospice, Memory Bridge, Alzheimer’s Community Care, the American Cancer Society, The Arts Council of Martin County and Martin County Community Foundation. 



Faith-Based Service

Dale M. Hudson, from Stuart, received a Sage Award in Faith-Based Service.  For 23 years, Dale has served as the chairman of Mary’s Kitchen – an outreach ministry of St. Mary’s Episcopal Church.  Through his devotion to this mission, over 200,000 meals have been served to the hungry and homeless living in our midst.  





Human Services

Irwin Stovroff, from Boca Raton, won a Sage Award in Human Services for founding Vets Helping Heroes at the age of 84, which underwrites service dogs for veterans with Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome. The organization has provided service dogs for more than 300 veterans. Well into his 90's, Irwin continues as President of Vets Helping Heroes. 



Healthcare and Health Services - Award #1

Dr. Reza Khatib, from Palm City, won a 2017 Sage Award in Healthcare and Health Services. Dr. Khatib is a retired neurosurgeon who continues to pursue his passions through far-reaching philanthropic work. He endows chairs and professorships in Neurological Surgery and Oncology at four U.S. universities. He was instrumental in the opening of the first hospice in Iran in 2017.  And, he created The Khatib Bridge and Education Center in here in Stuart.   




Healthcare and Health Services - Award #2

Dr. Barbara Bush, from Stuart, won a 2017 Sage Award for Healthcare and Health Services. Dr. Bush has continued her 39 years of volunteering with the Martin Health Auxiliary well into her retirement, logging 18,450 hours of service.  Whether in a leadership role or helping patients through the No One Dies Alone Program, she’s known for her remarkable dedication to health care.   




Service to the Arts

Dr. Marie Jureit-Beamish, from Sewall's Point, received a 2017 Sage Award in Service to the Arts. Dr. Jureit-Beamish continues her musical passion and commitment through board member leadership roles in the arts and through establishing “Sunset Concerts in the Gallery”, “Coffee with the Conductor”, The Jureit Musicales and the Marie and J. Calvin Jureit Foundation.   




Charlie Kane Award

The 2017 Charlie Kane Award was given to Dr. Howard E. Voss, from Stuart, who has dedicated decades to teaching, contributing significant medical research, and treating patients without the ability to pay. He fundamentally believes in meeting the health and wellness needs of the medically underserved population of Martin County, and for the past ten years, not only provided medical services, but also led the entire Volunteers in Medicine Clinic, as Medical Director and CEO.


Chairman's Award

The 2017 Chairman’s Award was given to David L. Smythe, of Hutchinson Island, for his steadfast commitment to supporting organizations that benefit the welfare of children living on the Treasure Coast, including StarStruck Theatre, Inc., Hibiscus Children's Center, and the Children's Museum of the Treasure Coast. He also gave an extraordinary gift to the Martin Health Foundation for the David L. Smythe Wound Center. 


Public Service Award

The 2017 Public Service Award was presented to Elmira Gainey, of Stuart, for devoting decades of her life and her talents in public service for the greater good of Martin County. After a 32 year career as an educator, she entered the political arena as a Martin County Commissioner for eight years. At an age when many seniors shed responsibilities, she accepted gubernatorial appointments ranging from 2 to 14 years, serving on civic and oversight boards. In addition, she continues to donate her time to community organizations, many of which she has supported for decades.

2016 Sage Award Winners

Advocacy Award
Nathaniel P. Reed, from the Town of Jupiter Island, won a 2016 Sage Award in Advocacy for his efforts in preserving Florida’s natural resources. Nat Reed founded both the Everglades Foundation and 1000 Friends of Florida, and advocates for State and Federal Funding to repair and restore the Florida Everglades system.
Community Service Award
Anne Thompson Schafer, from Jensen Beach, won a 2016 Sage Award in Community Service for her work with women and children in Martin County. Specifically, Anne founded “Women’s Power Lunch of Stuart” - an organization and monthly luncheon that continues over 15 years later!
Faith-Based Service Award
Reverend Allison Spencer, from Stuart, received a Sage Award in Faith-Based Service for her ministry at St. Monica’s Episcopal Church in East Stuart. This award recognizes the servant leadership Reverend Spencer continues to demonstrate after 19 years of service to this poor congregation.
Healthcare & Health Services
Dr. Nathaniel P. McParland received a 2016 Sage Award in Healthcare & Health Services. Under the leadership of Dr. McParland, the Retirement Research Foundation allocates more than $6 million annually for research, training, advocacy, and direct service projects that improve the quality of life for older Americans.
Human Services Award
Jean Peraino won a Sage Award in Human Services. Since 1998, Jean has volunteered in Adult Day Health Care at the Council on Aging, committing her heart, time, and resources, to help in the expansion of the program. Over 12 years, Jean helped raise over half a million dollars for the agency, plus an additional $50,000 to remodel Adult Day Health Care.
Professional Services Award
Evans Crary, Jr. won a Sage Award in Professional Services. Through his commitment to continuing Frances Langford’s philanthropic interests as her foundation’s Trustee, sizable contributions were made to key non-profit organizations to change the face, substance and scope of their charitable work.
Service to the Arts Award
Vianne Nichols won a Sage Award for Service to the Arts, for her over
25 years of leadership and commitment to the Arts Council and Arts Foundation of Martin County. Through her leadership, Vianne allocated over $250,000 to artists and arts-related programs, projects,
scholarships, and internships in Martin County.
Charlie Kane Award
In honor of Charlie Kane (center), the Council awarded Deane B. Blazie (right) with the 2016 Charlie Kane Award for his exceptional commitment to helping the blind community, worldwide, through
increasing support, advocacy, care, and technology.


Openings Now Available in Our Adult Day Club!

Openings are now available in our Adult Day Club.  To learn more or schedule a personal tour, call 772-223-7843 today!

Kane House Calls - Bringing Quality Medical Care Home to You!

If it's difficult for you to get to the doctor, the Day Medical Center will send a team member to you. Our House Calls program is now available for those who qualify.  
Call 772-223-7864 to learn more!