Sage Awards Honors Outstanding Seniors

Sage Awards Honors Outstanding Seniors

User Rating: 3 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

The Council on Aging of Martin County’s second annual Sage Awards reception and dinner recognized 27 admirable Treasure Coast seniors nominated for their outstanding contributions and service to the community.

“The senior years are the second act of life,” said Gertrude Rodgers, Chairman of the Board of the Council on Aging, as she toasted the nominees and more than 200 guests at the awards ceremony and dinner. “These years are a second chance to reinvent yourself by following new priorities, rededicate yourself to long-held values, or reevaluate how you want your life to make a difference. Our Sage Award nominees are all living remarkable second acts.”

The 2017 Sage Award winners are: Dr. David L. Anderson for Professional Services, Gytha Von Aldenbruck for Community Service,  Irwin Stovroff for Human Services, Dr. Marie Jureit-Beamish for Service to the Arts, Dale M. Hudson for Faith-Based Service, and Dr. Reza Khatib and Dr. Barbara Bush for Healthcare and Health Services.

Dr. Howard E. Voss received the Charles Kane Award for his instrumental contributions to health care in Martin County as a founder and the Medical Director and CEO of the Volunteers in Medicine Clinic. In addition, David L. Smythe received the Chairman’s Award for his more than 30 years of philanthropic work after retiring in Martin County. Elmira Gainey received the Public Service Award for continuing her five decades as a vigorous and passionate community leader into her senior years. 

The 17 remaining nominees were also recognized throughout the evening for being remarkable and inspiring senior role models: Elaine Andersen, Sarah B. Armellini, Ellen Asselin, James Balenseifer, Marian M. Carpenter, Bobbie Corzine, Betty J. Hardwick, Debra Harsh, Rev. Glenford E. Hutchinson, Kathy M. Lisi, LT Dick McMeekin, USN (ret), Jim Olsen, Dolores Ripper, Doris Sanders, Mary B. Shaw, Donna R. Teuscher and Charles Zammit.

Proceeds from the Sage Awards will benefit the charitable work of the Council on Aging of Martin County, which includes Meals on Wheels, a therapeutic adult day health center, primary medical care, geriatric case management and caregiver support. The event was held at the Charles and Rae Kane Center in Stuart. More about the Sage Awards and the 2017 nominees and winners can be found at kanecenter.org.

Sponsors of the Sage Awards included:  The Nearing Management Group of Merrill Lynch; the Joseph C. and Ann S. Day Medical Center; Martin Health System; Mrs. Robert Aune; Publix Super Market Charities, Inc.; CenterState Bank; the Susan R. and John W. Sullivan Foundation; Inc.; The Saelzer/Atlas Wealth Management Group of Raymond James; Mr. and Mrs. William Kemp; Wilmington Trust, P.A.; Anchor Home Health Services; Big Pine Nursery; N. Schoonover & Associates, Inc.; Symphony at Stuart Assisted Living and Memory Care and Waste Management Inc. of Florida.

The Charles & Rae Kane Center, 900 SE Salerno Road, Stuart, FL 34997

Area Agency on Aging

© 2017 The Kane Center. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Growth Squad.