2020 Sage Award Nominees

Announcing the 2020 Sage Award Nominees

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive


The Council on Aging of Martin County at the Kane Center is proud to announce the nominees for the fifth annual Sage Awards, a singular event on the Treasure Coast which honors the wisdom and worth of seniors.

Nominated by members of the community, these outstanding individuals will be recognized for their remarkable achievements and contributions that have continued well into their senior years.  Nominees for the 2020 Sage Awards are Robert Benson, Lee Borellis, Dr. LaBarbara Chenault, Sue DeNike, Kevin Donahue, Pat Garrett, Rachelle “Rocky” Grady, Ann Jackson, Belinda Lowe, Dan Mackin, Eileen Morris, Richard Otten, Karlette Peck, Dorothy Scotto, Alice Shann, Claire Siefker, Ellyn Stevenson, Nancyann Taylor, LaVaughn Tilton and Sean M. Todd.

This year’s Charlie Kane Award honorees are Dr. Linda Kardos and Dr. Howard Robbins, two physicians who have dedicated more than three decades of their lives to their community, as physicians and as devoted volunteers and philanthropists to numerous charitable organizations.

The William and Helen Thomas Charitable Trust will be honored with the Chairman’s Award for adeptly fulfilling the legacy of a long-time philanthropic couple from Stuart by supporting nonprofit organizations providing services for education, the environment, medical needs, the underprivileged and other charitable purposes.

The awards ceremony and dinner will be held Thursday, March 26, 2020 beginning at 5 p.m. at Harbour Ridge Yacht & Country Club in Palm City. Dinner tickets are $125 and can be purchased online at www.kanecenter.org or by calling the Kane Center at 772-223-7827. 

2020 Sage Award Nominees

Presenting the 2020 Sage Award Nominees. From left: Rachelle “Rocky” Grady, Sean M. Todd, Eileen Morris, Sue DeNike, Robert Benson, Dorothy Scotto, Belinda Lowe, Alice Shann, Nancyann Taylor, Claire Siefker, Dr. LaBarbara Chenault, Richard Otten and Lee Borellis.


This year’s honorary chairperson is H. William Lichtenberger, recipient of the Charlie Kane Award in 2018.

“I appreciate the message behind the Sage Awards,” said Lichtenberger. “Much of what makes our communities on the Treasure Coast so wonderful is thanks to the contributions of seniors. I look forward to seeing a big crowd on March 26 cheering for this fantastic group of nominees.”

2020 Sage Nominees

Pat Garrett and Karlette Peck. Not pictured: Kevin Donahue, Ann Jackson, Dan Mackin, Ellyn Stevenson and LaVaughn Tilton


In addition to the Sage Awards, keynote speaker Dr. Mark Brody, President and Founder of Brain Matters Research, will speak on the topic “Getting Close to a Cure for Alzheimer’s.” Brain Matters Research is one of the leading Alzheimer’s disease research facilities in the country. Its satellite office in the Kane Center is the only clinical research facility for Alzheimer’s disease on the Treasure Coast.

All proceeds from the Sage Awards support the vision of the Council on Aging of Martin County to inspire a community that embraces, uplifts and encourages seniors to maintain lives of quality and purpose.

The Sage Awards is made possible by support from Presenting Sponsors Dr. Reza and Georgianna Khatib, as well as Cleveland Clinic Martin Health; The Community Foundation Martin - St. Lucie; Nearing & Dallas Wealth Management/RBC Wealth Management; Publix Super Markets Charities; Bob and Carol Weissman; Sailfish Wealth Management Group/Michael Dadko; Brain Matters Research; Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital; N. Schoonover & Associates; The Saelzer/Atlas Wealth Management Team of Raymond James;  Richard Cassel; The Feiertag Financial Group of Janney Montgomery Scott, LLC; Mr. and Mrs. Frank J. Tasco; Solaris Senior Living of Stuart; Berger, Toombs, Elam, Gaines & Frank; Patrick Exterminating, Inc.; and Publix Super Markets Charities.




The Charles & Rae Kane Center, 900 SE Salerno Road, Stuart, FL 34997

Area Agency on Aging

© 2017 The Kane Center. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Growth Squad.