Sage Awards


Celebrating the Wisdom and Worth of Seniors.

On Saturday, March 30, 2019, the Council on Aging will bring our community together to celebrate the wisdom and worth of seniors at the Fourth Annual Sage Awards. This award dinner recognizes seniors who continue to live purposeful lives by offering their experience, professional skills and compassionate heart…to improve our world. The venue for the event this year is the exclusive Harbour Ridge Yacht and Country Club in Palm City.

The Sage Awards is the signature fundraising event for the Council on Aging of Martin County. However, seniors residing in Martin, St. Lucie and Indian River Counties are eligible for nomination. Nominated seniors attend the event with friends and family. Nine to 12 award winners are announced during the Sage Awards dinner ceremony.

Saturday, March 30, 2019
Harbour Ridge Yacht & Country Club
12600 Harbour Ridge Boulevard, Palm City, FL 34990
6 p.m. Cocktails, 7 p.m. Dinner & Awards Presentation
Tickets are $125 per guest

Tickets on sale now for the 2019 SAGE AWARDS!

For ticket information, please call 772-223-7831.

Nominate the Sage in Your Life!


“These years are a second chance to reinvent yourself by following new priorities, rededicate yourself to long-held values, or reevaluate how you want your life to make a difference. Our Sage Award nominees are all living remarkable second acts.”

Gertrude Rodgers, Chairman of the Board of the Council on Aging

Proceeds from the Sage Awards will benefit the charitable work of the Council on Aging of Martin County, which includes Meals on Wheels, a therapeutic Adult Day Club, the Joseph C. & Ann S. Day Medical Center, geriatric care management and caregiver support.

Become a Sponsor! Support life-saving, life-improving programs and services for seniors in Martin County.

Is your business interested in supporting the Kane Center's events, programs and services all year long? Join our Corporate Partnership Program!

Call Bonnie Ares Royster at 772.223.7831 or e-mail [email protected] for more information.

2018 Sage Award Winners

William Lichtenberger

Charlie Kane Award

H. William Lichtenberger

H. William Lichtenberger received the 2018 Charlie Kane Award for the decades of significant contributions he has made to numerous local charitable organizations, allowing them to better carry out their missions and shape Martin County into a truly exceptional place to live.

Robert L. Crandall

Public Advocacy

Robert L. Crandall

Robert L. Crandall won a 2018 Sage Award for Public Advocacy for his unwaivering support of local causes, most notably, his leadership in Citizens Against Rail Expansion, publicly opposing the proposed high-speed rail in order to protect the small towns of coastal Florida.

Mildred Gipson


Mildred C. Gipson

Mildred C. Gipson received a 2018 Sage Award in Education for devoting more than 60 years of her life to serving, mentoring, and contributing her time, resources, and talents to the advancement of others.

Knight Kiplinger

Chairman's Award

Knight Kiplinger

Knight Kiplinger, a renowned economic journalist and philanthropist, received the 2018 Chairman's Award for his unceasing drive to create innovative solutions to better the communities of Martin County.

Julia Kelly

Arts and Culture

Julia Kelly

Julia Kelly won a 2018 Sage Award in Arts and Culture for her decades working locally in Martin County as an artist, educator, committed volunteer and philanthropist who specializes in teaching others how to tap into their creative expression.

Rita May Wright

Health Science and Medicine

Rita May Wright

Rita May Wright received a 2018 Sage Award in Health Science and Medicine for her lifelong commitment to volunteerism, advocacy and philanthropy particularly focused on championing organizations that provide high-quality health care.

Saadia Tsaftarides

Community Advocacy

Saadia Tsaftarides

Saadia Tsaftarides received a 2018 Sage Award for Community Advocacy for her active role in serving the Golden Gate community, embodying her belief that everyone should have a clean, welcoming and safe place to call home.

Julie Preast

Community Service

Julie Preast

Julie Preast received a 2018 Sage Award in Community Service for her dedication to improving her Rio community and ensuring historic preservation of treasured sites throughout Martin County.

Shamsher Singh

Military and Veterans Service

Dr. Shamsher Singh

Dr. Shamsher Singh received a 2018 Sage Award in Military and Veterans Support for his abundant gifts of time and treasure that have enabled Southeast Florida Honor Flight to keep its promise to South Florida's veterans by honoring the service and sacrifices they gave to our country.

Mary DooleyKatherine Kinnally 





 Faith-Based Service

Sister Mary Dooley & Sister Katherine Kinnally

Sister Mary Dooley and Sister Katherine Kinnally received a 2018 Sage Award for Faith-Based Service. After more than a decade leading Hope Rural School in Indiantwon, they founded the KinDoo Family Center, continuing their dedication to uplifting immigrant families through hope, education and faith.

2018 Nominees

The 17 remaining nominees were also recognized throughout the evening for being remarkable and inspiring senior role models:

  • Robert Nick Bennett
  • Frank M. Byers, Jr.
  • Thomas Campenni
  • Joseph J. Celli
  • Patricia Donovan
  • William T. Heidrich
  • Mary Jean Houlahan
  • Carol Jarzyn
  • Caroline Kinzer Philipbar
  • Marianne Lettenstrom
  • Thomas S. Lytle
  • Betty Mulligan
  • Joseph Pistorio
  • Jackie Robbins
  • Mona G. Salisbury
  • Barbara Scharlau
  • Robert Schneider
2017 Winners
2017 Nominees
2016 Winners

Many Thanks to our Generous 2018 Sponsors

  • Joe and Ann Day
  • Nearing Wealth Management
  • Publix Charities
  • Gabriella Aune
  • Martin Health
  • CenterState Bank
  • William Crandall
  • Sullivan Foundation
  • McCarthy Summers
  • Saelzer Atlas
  • Schoonover
  • Craig and Linda Harlan
  • Feiertage Financial
  • Your Life Stuart

    The Charles & Rae Kane Center, 900 SE Salerno Road, Stuart, FL 34997

    Area Agency on Aging

    © 2017 The Kane Center. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Growth Squad.